My Thoughts

Youer than you

Today is world suicide prevention day. In the words of Dr. Seuss “Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You.” Don’t let the world convince you that you aren’t loved and cherished. Don’t let the spark that is you be taken out by the circumstances that life throws your way. There is no one like you, and there is no one who can replace you in the lives of those who love you ❤ Don’t think that you aren’t loved because you are, you are precious, you are cherished, the world needs you to think, and create, and come up with ideas. The world needs your talent and your ambitions.

Image

As someone who has been there, who has thought that I could be replaced. who has been in that place where I found myself ready to end it all, who lost hope, I urge you to seek help, to reach out, to remember that you are not alone. I wrote about my struggles here and here and I am so glad that someone took the time to check up on me when I couldn’t do it anymore.

For those who aren’t going through depression and are not feeling suicidal, be on the look out. Do you know that suicide is the 10th leading cause of death in this country. Do you know that on average someone commits suicide every 13.7 minutes. Let the people you know and don’t know that they are precious, let them see that they can’t be replaced, give them someone safe to come to and seek help. Most of all, offer love to those around you. Listen to people, smile at them, hug them, make love a verb.

I pray that this world becomes a place where people never doubt that they are love.

American Foundation of Suicide Prevention

Don't forget you can share your ideas with me below :)

