My Thoughts, Study Abroad

To Laugh or Cry

Have you ever had a week were you couldn’t decide whether to laugh or cry? That was my last week. I don’t believe in bad luck but if I did, last week would have been considered the definition of bad luck. While I love studying abroad, I was ready to go home and be a baby because of how I felt.

It all started with this creepy man at waitrose (grocery store) on Tuesday night. I had been craving chicken and decided to walk down to find something to eat. It didn’t seem like a bad idea to go, and until then my week had been enjoyable, and while I had been having my fair share of encounters with strange men, there was no reason for me to feel freak out, until Tuesday night. In waitrose, I was just browsing, when this short man approached me to ask for money. At first he was nice and polite, but when I told him that I had nothing to give, the man got angry and terrified me. The entire time I was paying for my food, I was nervously glancing around to make sure he had left the store, and then I high tailed it to my flat around the corner. Normally when things like that happen, I brush it off my shoulder, but this man scared me and I ended up having a nightmare with him as the star.

I woke up the next morning in a bad mood because of that nightmare, and my day got worse from then. My flat key fell through a hole that I didn’t even know existed in my coat, I got lost in a town that I didn’t know, while it was raining, and then to top it off, I got food poisoning. At the moment, none of this was funny to me, in fact I was wondering if I was being punished for something that I had done earlier in life. Obviously I was being over dramatic at the time, but everything that could go wrong, just seemed to go wrong. To top it off, I woke up on Saturday morning with a swollen elbow and I knew from experience that it was tendonitis. That’s when I cried.

With all the things that were going on, I took the time to have a bit of self-reflection. While it would have been easy to blame it on others or say that I was being punished, I came to the realization that sometimes life just sucks, and you roll with the punches or get knocked out. While you don’t always get to choose what happens to you, you choose how to respond. So I decided that this week will be all good, and that even if circumstances are frustrating, I will be optimistic. In fact I want to look back at the situations with pride and know that I laughed instead of cried.

Don't forget you can share your ideas with me below :)

