Culture, Music, Things That Bring Joy, Weddings/Love

With Love: My 10 favourite nigerian love songs

In honour of my favourite holiday (after Christmas of course) I decided to compile a list of my 10 favourite Nigerian love songs. I love love, so I love valentine’s day, even if it it a commercialized holiday. I don’t think you need to be in a relationship to appreciate the joy that comes from seeing two people in love, so here are a few Nigerian songs to make you feel all warm and gooey inside 🙂

Davido released a song just in time for valentine’s day and I’ve had it on replay since I heard it. Aye is such a cute song and since hearing Yoruba makes me automatically feel good, it had to be included. The video is great and definitely fits the story well

Another song that I love is Ekuro,  I think Davido is just good at singing about love in a way that makes you want to find someone to dance with. The video didn’t impress me, but the words of the song are so sweet

I obviously had to include Banky W’s Yes/No. When it came out last year, it was all I listened to and after hearing it, you will understand why. Also the video is so cute!

Ife Wa Gbona is my favourite Tiwa Savage duet, so I obviously had to add it to this.

I would be remiss if I didn’t add a song in Igbo, and this one by Flavour hits the right spot. It makes me want to go to a wedding (hint, hint)

I love this song, and that’s all I’m going to say.

This is a classic, I remember when I used to say that I would make this my wedding song

This duet by Becca and M.I is the perfect mix of Ghana and Nigeria

I don’t think this song gets enough notice, but it’s my absolute favourite…

To make this an even 10, I chose a song by Praiz that always makes me feel warm inside.

Don't forget you can share your ideas with me below :)

