My Thoughts

A Review of Everything that I’ve Promised to review

Hi there,

So in the last few months, I’ve tested products for influenster, and bought products that I either hated or loved. Instead of making individual posts for these things, I’m just doing in in one post #laziness. I’m promising to be as honest as I would expect anyone else to be, which means brutally honest. Here We Go

Makeup:

  1. Maybelline fit me matte + poreless: So I got this product from influenster to try out for free a while ago. When I got this product I was excited because matte translates to controlled oily skin for me and I like free things. The foundation that I got was the 360 Mocha shade, and while that might be great for winter, that didn’t really match well in the summer. I’m waiting for drugstore products, actually all makeup companies to  step it up in providing shades for darker women. I wore it to work without primer, and it held up for about 3 hours before it started to slide off. I assume that with primer and setting spray it will last longer. For the price, its a great option for those with oily skin, and with the help of primer, it will last.
  2. Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara: Everyone talks about this mascara like its the holy grail of mascaras. I went and bought the smaller size because I refuse to pay full price for something that I might hate. I’m not sure if I just suck at using this mascara, but I was not impressed. The great thing about it is that my eyelashes don’t clump together, but that’s all I can say about it. It didn’t lengthen my lashes enough for me to validate the price, and I was disappointed. A great alternative to it is the L’oreal Paris Miss Manga Punky mascara. Its inexpensive (especially at tj maxx) and adds so much length to your eyelashes. I love it. Seriously though, save your money and try something else.
  3. Becca Ever Matte Poreless Priming Perfecter: Again a product that is intended for those of us who struggle with oily skin. This primer does what it says, and does it well. The only issue that I had was that my skin looked ashy to me, and I had to do so much to bring warmth to it. I’m not sure how to fix that, so until I do, I’m just going to leave it alone. If you have tips let me know.
  4. Maybelline vivid matte liquid: I got this from influenster as well (seriously go and sign up). They gave me two colours, the nude flush and rebel red. I really wanted to like this product but it was horrible. The nude flush is definitely not dark skin friendly, and made me look like that pokemon jynx, yuck.              The red was better in terms of colour, but that is the only positive thing that I have to say about this product. I’m not sure if maybelline forgot what matte meant between the foundation and this product, but the best way to describe this liquid lipstick was not matte. I tried it so many times and it never dried to a matte finish. Regardless of how many layers I put on, it wouldn’t do what was advertised. just save your money and use the nyx matte lip creams if you’re going for a drugstore product.

Hair:

Donkavaya Hair: I’m not sure how I came across this company, but something about them intrigued me. I reached out to them and they sent me a bundle to sample. After checking it out and dying that sample, I ordered from them. I ordered the peruvian body wave 18,20,22,24,26 and a closure for myself (I love full hair) and then my sister ordered the same in 18,20,22,24 and a closure. This was paid for with my money.

Packaging: So packaging wise, they weren’t that impressive and I love pretty packages, so I was a little bit disappointed.

Customer service: They were so patient and helpful. There was an issue with shipping and they did all that they could to make sure that I got my product on time. I literally harassed them at all times, and they were quick to respond to assure me that I would get my product on time.

The hair: I ordered 5 bundles because I was nervous that the hair would be thin and that ended up being unnecessary with this hair. The bundles were thick, soft and so pretty and the closure didn’t require me to do work, which was great. I ended up dyeing the hair to black and it still stayed soft and manageable. The hair doesn’t tangle unless I go to sleep without doing anything to it and of course when the wind chooses to be an enemy of progress. I’ve installed it a few times since I got it in may because my new growth is also an enemy of progress. The hair sheds a little bit but that’s because the wefts were cut and I didn’t seal it. The body wave comes back when I wash it, and it straightens and curls nicely.

The negatives: So the only real problem I had was that my sister’s closure has shed so much that it has a huge bald spot on it. She didn’t dye hers like I did, so I’m not sure why its that way. Sadly she’s going to have to buy a new closure because its kind of hard to hide that. Other than that, the hair had no problems that would dissuade me from buying it in the future.

Price: They weren’t expensive, and while I want to let you know how much I paid for 9 bundles and 2 closures, I never know if my parents are reading this, and would like to prevent any unnecessary lectures on my life decisions. Honestly, the price isn’t bad and they are currently having a sale for back to school, so get on it.

Others:

ZzzQuil LiquiCaps: This was one of those things that I recieved from influenster. It’s almost like they know how hard I’ve been dealing with insomnia lately. I’m not sure what I was expecting from this pill, but it took me a while to fall asleep, and I’m not sure if that because I was sick when I tried it and had taken a nap earlier in the day, but I was not impressed. I’ll just stick to counting sheep and the sound of rain when I try to sleep.

 What are some products that you’ve tried recently that you either hated or loved, share below please 🙂

Don't forget you can share your ideas with me below :)

